Sell Customer Service First

RJ Carr
5 min readMay 15, 2019

I recently visited a major chain store that sells musical and audio equipment. I wanted to buy a microphone pop-screen for some audio work I am planning.

I found the item I needed and also discovered a microphone shock-mount. I walked to the cash register which was an area marked off by a large group of glass display cases arranged into a square with cash registers/computers on two of the four cases and room for cashiers inside the space.

One employee inside the square, with his back to me, was talking to a customer about microphones, going on and on to a man who was not buying anything. Another came over to the other cash register/computer to look up some number, passing me, looking through me, he never acknowledged my presence or reason for being at a cash register/computer. He did his inventory research with his back to me. I continued waiting. There was no “someone will be right with you sir,” or “I can help you over here,” nothing. I am waiting there, debit card in hand, just needing to pay for my items. If there was a self-service register, I would have paid and finished my transaction, there was not and I continued to be ignored.

After waiting and being ignored long enough, I finally left my items on the counter and walked out, never to return. I then went to Amazon and found the same items for a cheaper price.

--

--